Tuesday, January 7, 2014

I'm back...

Remember when I wrote in this blog in 2012, determined to lose weight? Well, it's 2014 now. Yeah, I don't think I was all that motivated. I also ran into some...complications.

Here is what I know about myself:

1. I have over-pronation in my feet. This means unless I have super pricey running shoes, it's excruciating to run. Jonathan and I attempted "couch to 5k" together and I had to quit about 1/3 of the way due to shin splints and chronic foot pain. I finally paid the bill to see a foot doctor, and that's how I found out about the pronation thing. So, for now, running is out.

2. I love my food. I love to cook from "Our Best Bites" and their stuff isn't super healthy...but, since I started cooking from their recipes I have discovered a love of cooking because all of it is delicious. My husband and children thank me daily for the things I cook. I couldn't stop even if I wanted to. I also LOVE cherry coke zero. Like a lot.

3. When I started this blog I was around 185 lbs. I am now, a year and a half later, hovering between 172-74. Only ten pounds lost in that length of time is a bit disturbing, yet I haven't been actively trying to lose weight. I've settled with what I am, but I'm tired of settling.

4. I hate exercise. Pretty much any form of it.

5. No way am I paying for a gym membership. Most of my friends do, but I don't have the extra allowance for it (plus we're paying off our debt), nor do I care to do the thing I hate most in front of lots of people in a place that reeks of body odors. It's just not something I care for.

6. We own like a dozen beachbody workout dvds since Jonathan's aunt partly runs the company. We also have loads of shakeology. And we now have a super nice blender that I love (Christmas present from us to ourselves, ha).

7. I tried those skinny wraps but didn't stick with them because of the ridiculous amount of water I had to drink....plus I wasn't being active, so I knew I wouldn't get the best result. I still have about 6 wraps left.

I want to be serious about losing weight, but especially about being more healthy. I've been brainstorming ways to go about this. Here's what I've come up with. (Another list...I thrive on list-making!)

1. Drink more water. I'll have to measure how much water I drink...
2. As much as I hate it, I need to exercise. My goal will be 30 min Monday-Friday. I'm going to try different things to see what I like, but as long as I'm sweating and my heart rate rises, that will be good enough.
3. Get up at 7 each morning so that I can actually do this. As soon as the kids are up I don't wanna have to think about it anymore. The rest of my day belongs to them.
4. Use the rest of my wraps.
5. Green smoothies every morning. I've only made a few so far. 

I can improve my cardio during these cold months, and by the time summer comes I will be ready to purchase some nice running shoes and start running again. Late summer or fall I would like to sign up for my first 5k (and perhaps Jonathan will do it with me!!??). This seems realistic enough, and specific enough, that I will stick with it. 

So far no one knows about this blog, and I intend to keep it that way. Everyone says its easier to lose weight when you have support, and I believe that...but, I'm insecure about my weight and right now I'm not comfortable letting the world in on that.